Home         Biographies     Family Histories         Links     Obits     Surnames    

  City-Boroughs-Townships-Unincorporated Communities




A borough (sometimes spelled boro) is a self-governing municipal entity, best thought of as a town,
usually smaller than a city, but with a similar population density in its residential areas. Sometimes thought of as "junior cities",
boroughs generally have fewer powers and responsibilities than full-fledged cities. Boroughs tend to have more developed business districts
and concentrations of public and commercial office buildings, including court houses. Boroughs are larger, less spacious, and more developed than the relatively rural townships,
which often have the greater territory and even surround boroughs of a related or even the same name.

Duboistown Hughesville Jersey Shore
Montgomery Montoursville Muncy
Picture Rocks Salladasburg South Williamsport


Townships were established based on convenient local geographical boundaries within the borders of the 67 encompassing Pennsylvania counties,
and typically vary in size from 6 to 40 square miles (16–104 km2). There are two classifications of townships, first class and second class.
To become a first class township and operate under the powers of the "First Class Township Code" in Pennsylvania statute law,
townships of the second class must have a population density of 300 inhabitants per square mile (120/km2)
and voters must approve the change of classification in a referendum. The principal difference between the two types is the form and the title,
and period of office for the township administrators. In the majority and second-class case, townships have three supervisors (can be increased to five by referendum)
elected at large (by all voters) for overlapping six-year terms. In first-class townships, the governing body is 5–15 township commissioners—with two
variations: either five commissioners are elected at large, or where population densities permit geopolitical wards be set up,
an odd number of commissioners (up to 15) may be periodically elected for four year overlapping terms. However, many townships have
chosen to remain second-class townships even though they meet the population density requirements to become first-class townships.


Anthony Armstrong Bastress Brady Brown Cascade
Clinton Cogan House Cummings Eldred Fairfield Franklin
Gamble Hepburn Jackson Jordan Lewis Limestone
Loyalsock Lycoming McHenry McIntyre McNett Mifflin
Mill Creek Moreland Muncy Muncy Creek Nippenose Old Lycoming
Penn Piatt Pine Plunketts Creek Porter Shrewsbury
Susquehanna Upper Fairfield Washington Watson Wolf Woodward

Unincorporated Communities

When a community is unincorporated, it means that it is not governed by a local municipal corporation
or local government. This can happen for various reasons, such as the town choosing not to incorporate,
failing to meet the legal requirements for incorporation, or being dissolved as a municipality.
Unincorporated areas are typically governed by the county or higher-level government
and may have limited local services and representation compared to incorporated towns or cities.


Antes Fort Balls Mills Barbours Cammal
Cedar Run Chemung Hoppestown Huntersville
Jersey Mills Lairdsville Leolyn Linden
Nisbet Pennsdale Proctor Ralston
Roaring Branch Slate Run Unityville


PAGenWeb State Coordinator
Nancy Janyszeski

PAGenWeb Assistant State Coordinator/County Coordinator (Eastern Counties)
Mary Ann Lubinsky

Lycoming County Coordinator
Linda J. East

All copyright laws are observed to the best of our ability.
However if you feel something is on the site and infringes on copyright laws let us know.
Use of information is for Personal Genealogical purposes only.
Commercial publication of any such information is prohibited.
All text and images are copyright by said contributors.

© 2024 Lycoming County PAGenWeb Project

This page was last updated 7 Mar 2024