JOSEPH S. ATKINSON, farmer, P.O. Lahaska, was born in Buckingham township August 19, 1823, and is a son of Thomas and Jane (Smith) Atkinson. His paternal grandparents were Thomas and Sarah (Smith) Atkinson. Thomas Atkinson was a son of Thomas and Mary (Wildman) Atkinson and a grandson of John Atkinson, a native of England and a pioneer of Wrightstown. The maternal grandparents of our subject were Thomas and Eleanor (Smith). Thomas Atkinson, grandfather of Joseph S., was a farmer of Wrightstown, and had six children:

Jonathan, Timothy, Thomas, Mahlon, Sarah, and Mary. Of these Thomas was a blacksmith by trade, and after his marriage settled in Buckingham, residing there until his death. His children who lived to maturity were: Mahlon, Mary, Martha, Joseph S., Sarah J., and Ogborn. Joseph S. was reared in Buckingham, and is a leading and prominent farmer. His wife was Eliza, daughter of William and Margery (Kirk) Hibbs, of Buckingham, by whom he had four children: William, Thomas, Mary, and Albert.

SILAS H. BEANS, merchant, P.O. Mechanicsville, was born in Buckingham township August 19, 1830, and is a son of Col. William and Mary C. (Thornton) Beans, natives of Bucks county. The ancestors of this family came from Wales and were among the first settlers of the county. Mr. Beans’s great-grandfather, William, was born in Southampton township and came to Buckingham township before his marriage and made a settlement, and Joshua Beans still owns the homestead. The grandfather, Joshua, was a farmer all his life and a resident of Buckingham township. He was in his 91st year at the time of his death. Our subject’s father was also a farmer by occupation and was colonel of the state militia. He was always known as Col. Beans. He served as captain, major, and colonel. He was the father of three children by his first wife: two are living: Silas H. and Elizabeth, wife of Moses Palmer. He had four children by his second wife, two of whom are living: Joseph K. and Ellen T. He died in 1861. Silas H. was reared as a farmer and has followed that occupation for the most of his life. In 1853 he was elected to the legislature and served one term. In 1858 he engaged in merchandising at Mechanics’ Valley, where he remained three years. He was then engaged in farming from 1861 to 1873, in the meantime buying the home farm. In 1873 he engaged in the mercantile business at Greenville, where he remained three years. In 1866 and 1867 he was revenue assessor. In 1875 he was elected recorder of the county and served one term of three years. After the expiration of his term of office he moved back to the farm, where he remained until the spring of 1886, when he was appointed postmaster at Mechanicsville and took possession April 1st. This is one of the best fourth-class offices in the state. He at the same time engaged in the mercantile business, which he still carries on. He carries a general class of merchandise. He has held several minor offices of the county and township. He was married March 24, 1859, to Mary P. Livezey, by whom he had eight children, six of whom are living: Harry R., born August 8, 1862; William T., born September 21, 1864; Emma L., born July 29, 1867, wife of Wesley W. Naylor; Albert, born September 9, 1869; Carrie H., born November 2, 1872; and Mary P., born August 6, 1878. The ones deceased were Rutledge T., born February 24, 1860, and George R., born May 1, 1875. His wife died October 16, 1878, and he was again married, April 14, 1880, to Mary E., daughter of George and Rachel P. Snyder, of Philadelphia. Mrs. Beans is a member of the Lutheran church of Philadelphia. Mr. Beans is a past master of the Masonic lodge. He has been a member of this lodge since 1855. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

SAMUEL E. BROADHURST, farmer, P.O. Buckingham, was born in Solebury township, Bucks county, February 25, 1823, and is a son of Joseph and Rachel Broadhurst, of English descent. The family came to this country in the early part of the seventeenth century. Thomas, the grandfather, was a farmer during his early life. He was a resident of Solebury township several years. He died in Centreville, Bucks county. Our subject’s father moved to Buckingham township in 1826, and bought the farm where Samuel now lives. He lived several years on this farm, when he bought a small place and lived a retired life. He died in 1868. He was the father of four children, three living: Mary A. (wife of Samuel Johnson Paxson), Samuel, and Caroline L., wife of Oliver Howard Wilson. Our subject was reared as a farmer, which occupation he has followed all his life on the farm he now lives on. He was married in 1848 to Sarah T. Reeder, by whom he has three children two of whom are living: Joseph J. and Horace G. Horace G. Broadhurst was first married to Frances Lovett, by whom he has one child, Anna M. His second wife is Fanny J. Smith, by whom he has two children: Sarah J. and Joseph P. Mr. Broadhurst has been trustee of the Hughsean school for a number of years, and also president of the Buckingham and Doylestown turnpike company.

SAMUEL H. CALFE, farmer, P.O. Gardenville, was born in Tinicum township, January 21, 1832, and is a son of John and Mary M. (Hillpot) Calfe, natives of Bucks county and of German descent. The family settled in Nockamixon township and was among the first to locate here. The grandfather, Henry, was a blacksmith during his early life. He later bought a large farm in Tinicum township, where he lived and died. He had only one son, John, who, when he was large enough to manage the farm, took charge and the father worked somewhat at his trade. Our subject’s father was a farmer, which business he followed all his life. He was the father of six children: Eve, widow of Samuel Trauger; Samuel H., Susan, wife of Aaron Rufe; Catherine, wife of Francis Worman; Elizabeth, wife of Joseph White, resides in Bristol; and Jonas H., who owns the homestead farm and lives on it. The father died in his 86th year, and the mother is still living. Our subject was brought up on the farm of his father until he was 21 years of age, when he began teaching school. He has followed this profession about twenty-five years. In 1875 he bought the small farm where he has since lived, and on which he has made many improvements. His buildings are all first class and the surroundings give evidence of the owner’s thrift and industry. He has a large clock in his possession which is said to have been brought to this country by his ancestors. It is known to be over two hundred years old. He was married March 28, 1868, to Hannah, daughter of George and Hannah (Ruth) Burgstresser. Mr. and Mrs. Calfe are members of the Presbyterian church. Mr. Calfe was a school-director while living in Lower Makefield township. In 1880 he was elected secretary of Cold Spring Dairymen’s Association, which office he still holds. In January, 1882, he was elected treasurer, which position he held until April, 1886, when he resigned. He has also been director of the association several times.

JUSTICE COX, retired, P.O. Buckingham, was born in Kingsessing, Philadelphia county, November 6, 1805. He is a son of Justice and Elizabeth (Paschall) Cox, natives of Philadelphia county. Otto Ernest Cox, from whom this family is descended, came from Sweden in 1638 and settled on the bank of the Delaware, where he took up a large tract of land in the then province of New Sweden. One of Mr. Cox’s ancestors, Hans Cox, was a governor of New Sweden, and another, Captain Lesse Cox, met William Penn on his arrival and acted as interpreter for him when making his treaties with the Indians, at Shackamaxon. The family continued landed proprietors in Philadelphia county until Mr. Cox moved to Philadelphia in 1851. He was educated at the Hamilton Academy and at Richard Moore’s school in Quakertown, to which he travelled by stage-coach from the old "White Horse" hotel on Second street, Philadelphia. After leaving school he took a position in a store in Philadelphia, but before coming of age began farming, which business with dairying and grazing he continued until he retired. He was somewhat interested in politics in his younger days, having been justice of the peace in Philadelphia for nearly ten years and was a judge of election at the time of the "Buckshot war." Mr. Cox was for many years warden of St. James church, Kingsessing, and well knew Dr. Colign, who was the last rector sent from Sweden and received his appointment from Bernadotte. In 1851 Mr. Cox purchased the farm which he still owns in Bucks county and which is part of the Watson grant. He was married in 1829 to Mary Moloney, a native of Philadelphia and daughter of James Moloney of Limerick, Ireland, by whom he had eight children: Gustavus Adolphus, married to Sarah, daughter of Thomas W. Bye, of Buckingham; James M., married to Roselma Josephine, daughter of Captain Joseph Archambault; Justice, married to Anna W., daughter of Colonel Richard Oakford, of Scranton; William, married to Ida M. Alburger, of Philadelphia; Elizabeth, married to Robert C. Cornelius, of Philadelphia; Mary M., married to Dr. W.T. Robinson of Philadelphia, and since deceased; and Sarah and Harry, deceased. Mrs. Cox died in 1852. Of Mr. Cox’s sons, Gustavus A. is a farmer in Buckingham, James M. and William are in the mercantile business, and Justice Cox, Jr., is in the iron business in Philadelphia. Mr. Cox numbers twenty-two grandchildren and two great-grandchildren among his descendants.

ELEAZAR DOAN, retired, P.O. Forest Grove, was born in Upper Makefield township, Bucks county, January 14, 1816, and is a son of Benjamin and Sarah (Kirk) Doan, natives of Bucks county, and of English descent. The family were originally English, being among the first settlers of this county. The grandfather, Amos, was a farmer by occupation, and resided all his life in Upper Makefield township. In 1804 he built a stone house, which is still standing. Benjamin Doan, father of Eleazar, was a farmer and lived and died on the homestead of his father. He had eleven children: John K., Eleazar, Amos, Mary, wife of John Cooper, Esq., William K., Sarah, wife of James Vandegrift, Benjamin C., Stephen K., Theodore, Miranda, wife of John Baker, and Evalina, deceased, who was the oldest and married Kinzey Harvey. Both parents are dead. Our subject was reared on the home farm, where he remained until he was 25 years of age. He then hired out to his uncle, Stephen Kirk, for about three years. He then married, and engaged in farming about twelve years, and subsequently engaged in the carpenter’s trade, at which he worked for about ten or twelve years. In 1855—‘6 and ‘7 he carried the papers from Doylestown, a trip of about eighty miles. In 1866 he bought a grist-mill in Buckingham township, which he run for several years and then rented it. He has owned the mill ever since its purchase. He also owns a large farm in Buckingham township. He was married May 18, 1843, to Martha C., daughter of Evan and Amy (Worthington) Thomas. Mr. Doan is an enterprising and intelligent citizen.

STEPHEN G. DOAN, farmer, P.O. Mechanicsville, was born in Upper Makefield township, Bucks county, February 28, 1820, and is a son of Joseph and Cynthia (Tomlinson) Doan, natives of Bucks county, and of English descent. The grandfather, Jesse Doan, was a farmer, and lived in Upper Makefield township. Joseph Doan, father of S.G., was also a farmer and lived for a time in Upper Makefield township. The rest of his life was passed in Northampton township, where he died. In political views he was a strong whig, but never aspired to any office, Children Stephen, John, Elias, Eli, Joshua, Cynthia Ann, and Amy Elizabeth, living; Rachel, Mercy, and Clara, deceased. Stephen G. was reared on the farm in Upper Makefield township until he was 20 years of age, when he moved with his parents to Northampton township, where he remained until he was 27 years of age. He then married Margaret A., daughter of Samuel and Mary (Lowder) Fenton, bought a farm and lived there until 1859, when he sold out and bought his present farm, and has since lived here. In 1880—1881 he built the house in which he now resides, which is constructed of solid stone. He has also made a great many improvements on his farm. Mr. and Mrs. Doan are the parents of three children: Mary Clarissa, wife of T.H. Wharton, Cynthia, and Samuel F. In 1861 Mr. Doan enlisted in company C, 128th Pennsylvania volunteers, and served nine months. He participated in the battles of Chancellorsville, South Mountain and Antietam. He was a part of the time in the hospital service. He is a member of the Grand Army of the. Republic.

HISTORY OF THE ELY FAMILY.— The Elys were among the early settlers of Bucks county. Joshua, the parent stock, was born in Dunham, Nottinghamshire, England, in 1645, and came to New Jersey in 1685 with his wife and sons, Joshua and George. John was born on the voyage, Hugh in 1689, and Elizabeth and Sarah in 1694 and 1698 respectively. His wife died a few years after, and he married Rachel Lee, of Burlington, by whom he had two children, twins—Benjamin and Ruth. He purchased 400 acres of land of Mahlon Stacy, lying above the Assanpink creek, Trenton. He was a man of some prominence in his day, and was one of the justices of Burlington about 1700. He died in 1702. Hugh, a son of Joshua, was born in 1689, and in 1712 married Mary Hewson. After a number of years the latter died, and in 1753 he married Phebe Smith, widow of Robert Smith, whose maiden name was Canby. By her he had no children. He moved to Bucks county in 1720 and purchased 300 acres of land of James Linnox, and in 1724 an additional 100, adjoining the first purchase, from Richard Lundy. The whole tract formed nearly a perfect parallelogram, extending from the Old York road to the mountain, and from the present Holicong and mountain road to Samuel E. Broadhurst’s line. As now divided it embraces the farms of Lavinia S. Paxson, Annie Atkinson, Anna J. Williams, Jonathan Smith and part of the estate of Judge Paxson. Hugh died in 1771, leaving children: Thomas, Hugh, Anna, and Ann. He joined Friends’ meeting at Buckingham in 1731, whereof he was an elder, and his wife Phebe an accepted minister. As there is no mention of their having united with Friends at an earlier day, it is probable their English ancestry belonged to the established church. Hugh deeded to his son, Thomas, 150 acres of the northeast part of his 400, extending from Holicong to the mountain, and in 1772 by will gave his son Hugh 250 acres. Thomas moved to Maryland in 1773 and sold his 150 acres to his brother Hugh, who then became owner of the 400 acre tract as owned by his father. And now of Hugh the second, grandson of Joshua: He was born in 1715, and married Elizabeth Blackfan in 1746, had children: John, William, Elizabeth, Hugh, Jesse, and Joseph. John was born in 1748, and married Hannah Austin in 1777, settled on the central farm, had children: Thomas, Samuel, John, James, Elizabeth, and Seneca. Thomas never married, John left children, James died young, Elizabeth married David Parry and left children, Samuel married and lived near Mechanicsville, left three children: Seneca W., now living at an advanced age, and one of the able editors of the Cincinnati "Commercial Gazette;" the late General John Ely, and Sarah, first wife of Harvey Shaw. The late Sheriff Ely is a grandson of Samuel through John. William 2d, son of Hugh, was born in 1750, and in 1774 married Cynthia Fell, daughter of George Fell, who married Sarah Kirk. They settled the same year upon the 150 acre farm adjoining the present village of Holicong. He died in 1824, left children: Sarah, George, Edward, Aaron, Benjamin, Elizabeth, and Patience. Sarah married Evan Jones, and left children: George died at sea, Edward married and left issue: George, now living in Montgomery county, and Anna, also living, widow of the late Joshua Paxson, of Bristol. Aaron, fourth child of William, was born 1783, married Rebecca Sheed in 1832, amid lived upon the farm occupied by his forefathers from the time of first settlement in 1720. He died in 1842, leaving two children: William and Lavinia S. The former died in 1855, at the age of 19, just after having completed his school studies at Mr. Bolmar’s in West Chester. He was a young man of more than ordinary promise. Lavinia married Albert S. Paxson in 1854, and had three children: William, who died in infancy, Edward E., now engaged in the banking business in Philadelphia, and Henry D., who is a member of the Bucks county bar, and the present captain of company G, Sixth regiment first brigade National Guard of Pennsylvania, the only military organization in Bucks county.

Benjamin, another son of William, moved to Philadelphia, and engaged in the mercantile business. Elizabeth never married, and Patience died in childhood.

Elizabeth, third child of Hugh 2d, married Thomas Smith, and had numerous children. From them are descended the many Doctor Smiths at Newtown and Lower Makefield.

Hugh, a child of Hugh 2d, moved to Solebury and married Ruth Paxson and left children: Elias and Elizabeth. The latter married Richard Randolph, the former Sarah Wilson, and left children: Richard Elias Ely, of New Hope, who married Caroline Newbold and had children, Margaret, who married Dr. Rhodes of Germantown, and Ruth Anna, who married Oliver Paxon, of New Hope, the two latter deceased, but have left several children at the old mansion.

Jesse, another child of Hugh 2d, married Rachel Carver and settled near Carversville in Solebury township, and had the grist and fulling mill there; the latter now known only by its ruins. They had several children, only two of whom left issue. He finally moved to his father’s farm, where Jonathan Smith now lives. His son, Hugh B., married Sarah Olden, of Princeton, and left children: Achsah, who married Homes Davis, M.D., and had one child, who was the first wife of George Eastburn; Joseph Olden, who married and has one child; Charles Bennington, who married Mary Kirk and has children; Francenia, who married John Blackfan, and is a childless widow; Mary Ann, married Moses Eastburn and left one child; Hugh B., who married Sophia Pugh, and is the present district-attorney of Bucks county. Of Alfred and William, two younger children of Hugh, the former died while a youth, and the latter in early manhood. William C., another son of Jesse, married Lydia B. Hulse and left four children who are married, and one single. Hugh, the eldest living, married Theresa I. Herbert, and has four children: Kate, Rachel, Mary, and Hugh; the latter is the fifth in descent of the name in this country. Joseph, another son of Hugh 2d, moved to Philadelphia, married and lived in Arch street, but left no family.

Of all those broad acres purchased by the first Hugh in 1720, there are now only 75 in possession of any of his descendants. The northern farm or homestead was deeded by the first Hugh to his son Thomas, who moved to Maryland in 1773, and sold the tract to his brother Hugh, who conveyed it to his son William in 1782. He left it by will to his son Aaron, and it came by inheritance to Lavinia S. Paxson, wife of Albert Paxson, who now resides at the homestead. Captain Henry D., their son, is the sixth in direct line that have occupied the same premises continuously since 1720. It rarely happens in this country that more than two or three generations follow in the footprints of their ancestors in occupancy of premises, but—

"Westward the star of empire takes its way."

In the long line of ancestry what changes have been witnessed. The same hand is seen in them all, however. The same kindred generation after generation opened the same doors; their feet trod the same halls and ascended the same stairways. They plowed the same fields and gathered year after year the bountiful harvests in the same old barn. The same tree cast its grateful shade around them as they took their harvest noon. They were generally blessed with large families, which added not a little to their social converse and childish sports. The following lines are somewhat descriptive of the youthful members of the family:—

"And thus the years sped on apace;
The old farm house, with quiet grace,
Nestled among the linden trees,
Where birds of song and honey bees
Mingled their notes with murmuring rills,
That laughing came from northern hills,
And singing onward on their way,
Or turned their mimic wheels in play;
The rolling seasons brought to each
The lessons which the seasons teach,
The falling leaves and dying flowers,
Fit emblems of this world of ours;
The sunlight and shadows fall
On stream and vale and storied hall;
The mountain rears its solemn crest,
The wild bird wings him to his nest,
The Wolf-Rocks stand out bold and clear,
Little reck they the dying year.
The soft winds linger through the pines,
They sing the songs of other times;
The barns well filled with winter’s store,
Enough for them and for the poor;
While on the breeze is borne along
The merry huskers’ cheerful song.
The winter’s snow, the village school,
The solemn teacher on his stool,
With pen put back behind his ear,
The well-used rod, too, always near;
A sovereign in his little realm,
He guides with steady hand the helm.
Of childish sport they had their share,
For birds they set the crafty snare;
Lured the meek hare with cunning art,
Ah! well, each one performed his part.
And when the blasts of winter came,
And icy fetters bound the main,
With skates well fastened on their feet,
They lightly skimmed the frozen sleet;
Then, when the shades of night came on,
And lowly sank the winter’s sun,
The lowing herds with faithful care
Were sheltered from the piercing air.
The chores done up, each one betook
Himself to game or pleasant book
Or gathered round the kitchen hearth,
The scene of joyous quiet mirth;
And as the wintry wind swept by,
Piling the snow-flakes up on high
In curling drifts around the door,
Or blowing in upon the floor,
The crackling fire was freshly stirred;
The blasts without were scarcely heard,
As up the chimney’s mighty throat
The flame and cinders lightly float.
The wood piled on with generous hand,
The huge back-log and fiery brand
Light up the room, and o’er the wall
Fantastic shadows gently fall.
And then the weird tale of ghosts,
Of heroes, and of mighty hosts
That met in battle’s shock afar;
The thunders of the mighty war
That rocked our country, when the sun
Of Freedom rose at Lexington.
And when the winter’s tale was o’er,
And lessons conned with trouble sore,
The store of nuts was gayly sought,
The steaming mug of cider brought;
The golden apples from the bin,
And doughnuts their contentment win;
And thus in pleasure’s pleasant ways
Were passed their childhood’s happy days."

With the change of seasons winter rolled away, and May with its buds and blossoms and June with its summer baptism of jubilee wreathed the valley in her robe of green. Our old time people had not forgotten the one important object of their lives, the preparation for the life eternal. They climbed the same hill to the old meeting-house at Buckingham, and occupied the same seats as their ancestors of yore. Their faith was not new, it was older than their American ancestry. It dated back to the time when George Fox, with his liberal doctrine, laid the foundation of’ spiritual advancement. They believed that the blessed promises vouchsafed to a loving people would not be withheld from them, and that blessings, like the dews of Heaven, are alike beneficent and bountiful to all. The lines of the poet Whittier are somewhat descriptive of this family:—

"They worshipped as their fathers did,
And kept the faith of childish days—
And howso’er they strayed or slid,
They loved the good old ways—
The simple tastes, the kindly traits,
The tranquil air, and gentle speech,
The silence of the soul that waits
For more than man to teach."

The enunciation of new doctrines in religion formed no part of the character of their lives. The empty husks that lie strewn along life’s pathway by contending theologians were not gathered by them. They seldom entered into discussions wherein mooted questions of doctrine were involved, In this respect, they might, with much truth, be compared to one of England’s most celebrated female sovereigns, who, when her empire was tossed on the sea of uncertainty in religious belief, was appealed to, to decide that ever open question among theologians, the true inwardness of the Sacrament of the Lord’s Supper. Well knowing the danger of adopting the dogmas of either party, with a fertility of thought that marked her career, she replied to the cardinal:-

"Christ was the word that spake it,
He took the bread and brake it—
And what he there did make it,
This I believe and take it."

The Elys at the old homestead had in turn witnessed the many encounters with arms in which our country had been engaged. The old French and Indian war, that of the revolution, the war of 1812, the encounter with Mexico, and our late American conflict. We have no record of this family being engaged in the furtherance of any appeals to arms they witnessed. The nearest approach to it was when the farm team of William Ely was pressed into the service to haul military stores to New York, he, for its safety and return home when done, accompanied it. For this he was disowned by Buckingham meeting. How many valuable members have been lost to the society by too strict an adherence to the letter of discipline, for "the letter killeth, but the spirit giveth life." 2 Corinthians iii. 6. Educated and reared in the simplicity of their sect, in the quiet of their farm houses, removed from the turmoil and bustle of the world, their contemplative minds could take in the harmony of nature as contrasted with the untold miseries resulting from an appeal to arms. With them it was a belief, founded upon religious conviction, that if wars and fighting were in accordance with the teachings of the blessed Messiah, then the teachings of George Fox and William Penn were in vain.

Their occupation of the premises covers a long line of years, and extending backward more than half a century before the revolution, and many incidents connected with that historic struggle were related by those living at the time, to the younger generations in after years. Seneca W. Ely, now living, well remembers his old grandmother, Hannah Austin Ely, relating to him that when young she witnessed General Washington passing along the Old York road, and that a fine field of wheat growing on their farm where the new house of Anna J. Williams now stands, was trampled down. This occurred on the 20th of June, when Washington and Lee marched from Valley Forge to New Hope, by way of Doylestown. The weather being stormy and road heavy, a large portion of the army filed in long lines through the wheat. Another event connected with the old mansion and the times referred to, resulted in the unfortunate death of one about to enter upon the defence of his country. We give the information as taken from the original affidavit in possession of the Paxson family now living on the premises.

"The information of Cynthia Ely, taken on qualification before me, George Fell, his Majesty’s coroner for the county of Bucks, is as follows: Robert Pogue and John Shannon came to my house the 14th day of August, in the morning, 1775, and asked me if I would lend John Shannon my husband’s gun to go to the muster that day. I told them they might have it. With that Robert Pogue took down the gun and gave it to John Shannon, and told him that was a nice piece for to exercise with, to which the aforesaid John said it was, and went out of the house and began to exercise at about three yards distance from the aforesaid Robert, who stood outside of the door, and I stood in the door, to see the aforesaid John exercise, and he gave himself the word of command, and went on to the word fire, and shot the aforesaid Robert in the throat, and he fell down dead in that place." Signed, Cynthia Ely.

The "muster" alluded to was no doubt at the ancient hostelry then known as Bogart’s Tavern, now Righter’s at Centerville. Cynthia Ely, the affiant, was a daughter of the coroner, married William Ely in November, 1774, and this was their first year of farming and wedded life. The gun spoken of is yet in a good state of preservation, and among the stored relics of Captain Henry D. Paxson.

There were many things which tried their faith and tested the sincerity of their religious profession; for it was not then an easy-going religion as now. There were then yearly trainings, and those who failed to put in an appearance were liable to the fine for non-attendance. As they could not attend from principle, they could not pay the penalty, for the same reason. The collector would, therefore, visit the barns of those so situated and distrain in grain or other products the amount of fine and costs, which were much in excess of the actual demand. William Ely was often an unwilling witness to these scenes, and the walls of the old barn now standing, built in 1792, are mute witnesses thereof. The practice originated during or shortly after the revolution, and was continued perhaps as late as 1845, when the law was repealed or changed, but not before it became odious.

We would be doing injustice to the wives of the Elys as well as history, did we omit the important part they bore in sharing the joys and burthens of life, and moulding the character of those committed to their charge, with a proper understanding of the true mission of man. Like the early settlers they were domestic in their habits, but possessed in no small degree those female attributes that most adorn a home. Ever ready with acts of kindness and charity, their helping hand was never wanting in efforts to improve the condition of those around them. It is hard to realize the changes that have taken place since the first Hugh planted his foot beneath the wilderness of forest that covered his large purchase from Linnox in 1720. As Hugh moved to the premises at that time, Linnox had no doubt made considerable clearing and erected some improvements thereon after he took title from Lundy a few years previously. It is more than likely that the buildings then erected are those now standing nearest the York road. There is evidence of the first story walls being of great antiquity. Samuel Johnson, father of the late Ann J. Paxson, who lived on the farm across the road, and adjoining, remembered when young the appearance of the house, a one-story structure, with cellar kitchen. This was about 1775, when William Ely settled upon the farm. The present barn (stone end) was built in 1792, which is marked by a stone set in the wall. As there was a barn there which was replaced by the present one, the old one would carry us back to a period when the first house was erected by Linnox. There is further evidence of the old mansion having been a one-story building as spoken of. When it was repaired and raised an additional story a few years ago, the old rafter plate of the one-story was found there much decayed and had to be removed before the present improvement could be completed. A relic of the forest left standing, a walnut tree in the house yard, is also a silent witness of long gone years. It has a circumference of twenty-one feet with lofty spreading arms of magnificent proportions, which justly entitle it to a premium as king of the forest. Our best judges of the antiquity of timber trees place it there one hundred and seventy-five years ago at least, and it would be no great stretch of fancy to imagine Penn holding treaty with the Indians who were encamped around Holicong under its grateful shade. It no doubt antedates and outranks in age the first buildings erected upon the property.

The Indians were frequent visitors at the Ely mansion as late as 1775. Isaac Still, a man of note among them, came into the township in 1771 and collected the scattered remnants of his tribe preparatory to their departure for the West. They were about forty in number, mostly females, the men having left for their new homes. Their temporary cabins were at the Holicong well, near by, and the keen sense of the native foresters could scent the savory pies of Cynthia Ely upon baking days, and their visits to her in consequence thereof were not a few. They left about 1775, to join their encampment on the Wabash.

The old fire-place bears evidence, likewise, of great antiquity, and has the old "trammel and crane" that did good service in cooking their meals in days long gone. It has been swinging back and forth since 1720, and while its usefulness has been superseded by modern improvements, it is held in veneration, and retained as a reminder of the habits and ways of our ancestors. The present generation have made some change which has added not a little to the artistic beauty of the old fire-place. Its dimensions have been somewhat curtailed; those now occupying the premises being modestly content with three feet logs therein, instead of six feet as formerly. The addition of a centre-piece above the mantel gives the whole structure a unique and striking appearance, resembling those fashioned in the old world in the sixteenth century. It consists of an old casting taken from the house of an adjoining property, once occupied by Nathaniel Ellicott, one of the earliest settlers. It came from Holland more than two hundred years ago, and after much cleaning to remove the accumulated rust of centuries, the original design was developed in a good state of preservation. The plate is two feet square and weighs about seventy-five pounds. It bears upon its face unmistakable evidence of Dutch art. The design represents a conflict between life and death. The skeleton representing death has placed his bony hand on the shoulder of a stalwart Dutchman, who is apparently in the vigor of health. In his uplifted right hand he holds a thighbone with which he is about to deal him a death-blow. The German with drawn sword looks death defiantly in the face, while beyond them is another man with hands clasped as if deploring the chances of his brother in the terrible conflict. At the bottom of the plate is this inscription in ancient Dutch characters


This is supposed to be the words of Death, and a literal translation into English would be: He (man) presumes to fight with me, bitter Death, but he cannot bring me (Death) to death, (or he cannot conquer death). The picture has been executed with considerable artistic knowledge, the expression and the grouping vastly better than could be expected in a work otherwise so crude. Taken altogether it is one of the most interesting things in its line, and is valuable either as a curiosity, or as an object of rare archaeological interest. Contributed by Albert S. Paxson, Esq.

HENRY P. ELY, surveyor and conveyancer, P.O. Lahaska, was born in New Hope, Bucks county, and is a son of Thomas and Mary Ely, and nephew of Henry P. Ely. His father is a native of Bucks county and his mother of Chester county. The Ely family was originally English. The original name is De Ely. The pioneer of the family was Joshua Ely, who emigrated from Dunnham, Nottingham county, England, and settled at Trenton in 1685. In 1738, his grandson, Joshua Ely, settled in Solebury township, Bucks county, and the Elys of said place are his lineal descendants. He was quite a prominent member of the Society of Friends, being an elder and minister of the gospel. He died in 1783. Jonathan Ely, born in 1804, was a descendant of his and was quite a prominent politician in his time, having been elected as assemblyman in 1850, 1851 and 1852, and state senator in 1855. He died in 1864. Dr. Edward Ely, his son, born in 1827, was an able and successful physician. He was consul at Bombay, India, during President Polk’s administration, and died in 1858. Among some of the illustrious descendants of this family are the names of Dr. Henry P. Ely and Dr. William Ely, who removed from the county; Rev. George Ely, and his son, Rev. George W. Ely, William C. Ely, the poet, Hugh Ely, clockmaker and musician, Joseph S. Ely, who was elected high sheriff in 1857; Samuel L. Ely, who was elected to the same office in 1878, and General John Ely, who served during the late rebellion. Thomas Ely, the father of our subject, was a farmer, and was the father of eight children: Eleanor E., Howard (deceased), Lucy, Jeremiah, Mahlon, Henry P., Letitia, and Deborah (deceased). Henry P. was reared on the homestead farm until he was 18 years of age, when he became desirous of learning some other vocation. With a determination to that effect, he began the study of surveying, and at the age of 21 years he had accomplished his object sufficiently to enter into the business himself, which he did very successfully, and has followed surveying since that time. He also carries on farming in Buckingham township. He is an intelligent and enterprising citizen, with a liberal view to public enterprises.

WARREN S. ELY, miller, P.O. Buckingham, was born in Solebury township, Bucks county, October 6, 1855, and is a son of Isaac and Mary (Magill) Ely, natives of Bucks county and of the English descent. The Ely family settled in Bucks county nearly 200 years ago. Joshua Ely settled in Buckingham township, where he took up land and followed farming. The grandfather, Mark Ely, was a shoemaker by trade, but also carried on farming. Our subject’s father had ten children, seven living: William M., Anna M., wife of Fred L. Smith, John H., Laura, Warren S., Alice K., and Martha C. Our subject was reared on a farm in Solebury township until 22 years of age, when he purchased a farm in Buckingham township, and followed farming for five years. In April, 1882, he purchased the grist-mill he now owns, of Joseph L. Shelly. He at once began to remodel the old mill and in 1886 he put in the new roller process and built an addition 36 by 18 feet, four stories in height. This mill was built in 1820, and in 1852 was sold to Joseph L. Shelly, and rebuilt by him in 1868. The mill is equipped with eight reductions, two feed burrs, one Eureka double smutter, and the necessary machinery to run a first-class mill. He has completely refitted the mill with new machinery. He has a capacity for storage for 4000 bushels of grain. This is the only first-class roller-mill in this section. He supplies the home demand and the mill is almost in constant use. He uses both steam and water power. He was married March 29, 1882, to Hannah Michener, by whom he has one child, M. Florence. Mr. and Mrs. Ely are members of the Society of Friends.

E. HICKS FELL, farmer, P.O. Doylestown, was born in Buckingham township, on the old homestead where he now lives, February 11, 1829, and is a son of Eli and Rachel (Carr) Fell, natives of Bucks county, and of English descent. The grandfather, Seneca Fell, was a farmer, and inherited the farm on which E. Hicks now lives over one hundred years ago. He built a part of the house that now stands on the farm, and died there. Eli Fell was the next to own this farm, and lived and died on it. He was the father of fourteen children: Jane, Ruth, Eli, Rachel, Martha, Elias, Huldah, and Morris, living; and Eunice, Mary A., Unee, Watson, Grace, and James, deceased. E. Hicks Fell was reared, and has always lived on the homestead, and is the owner of quite a nice little farm. He was married October 16, 1861, to Mary E., daughter of Elwood and Sarah L. (Haines) Dudley.

E. WATSON FELL, farmer, P.O. Holicong, was born on the old homestead where he now lives in September, 1843, and is a son of Joseph and Harriet (Williams) Fell, natives of Buck county. The Fell family originated from England, and came to this county about the time of William Penn. The grandfather, Dr. David Fell, was a practising physician for some years. The father, Joseph, was a teacher during his early life. He was the first county superintendent of Bucks county. He died in March, 1887, in his 83d year. He is the father of five children, four of whom are living: D. Newlin, judge of the Court of Common Pleas No. 2, Philadelphia; Emily F., wife of William T. Seal; Lucy W., and E. Watson. E. Watson was reared on the homestead, where he has always resided. He owns 121 acres. In 1867 he was married to Elizabeth M. Kenderdine, a native of Bucks county. They have four children: E. Lawrence, Robert N., Emily C., and William W. Mrs. Fell is a member of Friends’ meeting. Mr. Fell is an enterprising and intelligent citizen, and has held a number of township offices.

JOSEPH FELL, deceased, was descended in the fifth generation from the first representative of the family in this country— Joseph Fell, a native of Longlands, parish of Rockdale, county Cumberland, England. In the year 1705 he took passage with his family from White Haven on the ship "Cumberland," Captain Matthew Gale, and after an uneventful voyage of twenty-nine days, reached the capes of Virginia. It does not appear that this was their destination, however. The journey was at once continued by a coasting vessel to Bristol, from whence they removed to Makefield without further delay than was necessary to provide proper accommodations at the latter place. Their stay here was short. In the next year (1706) a second and practically final immigration was made to Buckingham. Here the family has increased until it is one of the most numerously represented families in the county.

Joseph Fell (the first) was born October 19, 1668. When 30 years of age he married Bridget Wilson. Two sons were born to this union in England: Joseph and Benjamin; and two daughters in this country: Tamar and Mary. The mother survived the birth of the last only eleven days. Her husband remained a widower three years, and then married Elizabeth Doyle, of Welsh descent, by whom he had seven children: John, Isaac, Titus, Thomas, George, Sarah, and Rachel. Joseph Fell, the second, married Mary Kinsey, daughter of Edmund Kinsey, of Buckingham. They had two sons and three daughters: Joseph, David, Sarah, Rachel, and Martha. Joseph Fell, the third, married Rachel Wilson, and their children were: Joseph, John, Martha, Rachel, Mary, David, and Jonathan. David Fell married Phoebe Scofield, and they were the parents of five children: Joseph, Bushrod, Edith, Sarah A., and Elizabeth, all of whom, except Bushrod, who died in infancy, were school-teachers. The father of this family was a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, and one of the pioneer physicians of this county. He lived to the advanced age of 82 years, and had an extensive practice, principally in Buckingham and the adjoining townships. Of his children Joseph was the first in order of birth, and was born in Upper Makefield, March 12, 1804. After such preliminary schooling as was then afforded he began his career as a teacher at the Union school-house in Buckingham, and afterwards was an instructor in the school of John Gummere at Burlington, N.J. About the year 1830 he began to teach the school at Buckingham meeting-house, and continued there several years, after which he made a journey to Ohio. Upon his return he purchased the property now the residence of his son. During the winter for several years he continued to teach at Tyro hall and Centerville. When the common school system was inaugurated he became its active supporter, was a member of the first school-board in Buckingham, and secretary of that body for a number of years. When the office of county superintendent was created in 1854 he was elected to that position. At the next nominating convention in May, 1857, he declined a proffered re-election, and delivered a farewell address replete with exalted sentiment. It reflects the ideas of one of the most advanced educators of the age, and, as the last official act of the retiring superintendent, evinced the vigorous, uncompromising earnestness which characterized his whole career. The following extracts are given:
     "I am not a stranger to the very prevalent impression among many of the citizens of this county that this office is not only redundant, but that it actually has been the cause of a great increase in taxation. To such an extent has this sentiment prevailed that in some sections meetings have been called with the view of moulding public opinion to effect a repeal of the law. With honest efforts for the public weal good citizens should always unite; but with those originating in ignorance and inebriety, whose effect if not design are to pull down instead of elevate, to tarnish instead of polish, to desecrate, not consecrate, they should not participate nor be identified. From letters received from the friends of temperance and education, who were speakers at some of these gatherings, an account might be given that would cause the philosopher of Abdera to shake his sides with glee, but over which my pen in mercy will draw the veil of charity. . . . . Educational effort for the benefit of the masses must keep pace with the other grand developments of the age, and I thank God that the great men of our state, without distinction of party, are so earnest in extending them over the commonwealth. They know full well that

‘Many a flower is born to blush unseen,
And waste its sweetness on the desert air.’

"These flowers it is their object to bring forth from the nooks and dells, where their beauty and fragrance would never have been appreciated, into the arena of public life, that they may beautify the walks that have been trodden only by the favored sons and daughters of fortune."

The directors he addressed as follows:
     "Visit your schools frequently; where advice is needed, give it; encourage reciprocal visits, and the formation of township institutes among the teachers, that they may learn of each other; sustain them in the exercise of rightful authority; speak frequently and kindly to the children; encourage them to perseverance in their studies, to embrace good, to eschew evil; plant the seeds of virtue and they will take root; and in the evening of your days you will be surrounded by a kind, enlightened, and wise people, who can point to you as the instruments of their prosperity and happiness, and whose blessings will smooth your pillow when about to pass from works to rewards.’"

His interest in educational matters did not cease with his retirement; he was a frequent visitor at institutes, and in 1868 became one of the principals of the soldiers’ orphans’ schools at Quakertown. His declining years were spent amid the quiet seclusion of a Bucks county home. He died at Buckingham on Friday, March 11, 1887, at the advanced age of 83 years. Few men of his generation have exerted so powerful an influence in the community. Mr. Fell manifested throughout his whole life a steady adherence to the principles and usages of the Society of Friends. He was an ardent abolitionist and, as his early manhood covered that period of our country’s history marked by the rise of the anti-slavery agitation, and its culmination in the civil war, the cause he espoused received the best activities of his life. He was never connected with politics as the incumbent of a public office except as member of the legislature in 1837, when he was elected by the whigs. After the disintegration of that party he became a republican.

Mr. Fell married Harriet Williams, daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Watson) Williams, 3d mo., 29th, 1835. They are the parents of five children: William, deceased; Emily C. (Seal), who resides in Philadelphia; D. Newlin, judge of the Common Pleas Court No. 2 of Philadelphia; E. Watson and Lucy W., of Buckingham.

PRESTON J. FELL, farmer, P.O. Mechanics Valley, was born in Buckingham township, Bucks county, January 31, 1836, and is a son of Jesse and Priscilla (Sands) Fell, natives of Bucks county, and of English descent. Our subject’s grandfather was Jonas Fell, a farmer who lived and died in Buckingham township. Our subject’s father was a farmer, and also carried on the nursery business. He had ten children, eight of whom are living: Lydia A. (widow of Samuel Frankenfield), Sarah J. (wife of J.M. Flack), Preston J., Rachel S. (wife of John M. Gray), Isabella S. (wife of J. Roberts Rapp of Philadelphia), Louisa (wife of Amos Randall), Addie, and Dr. John A. Those deceased were Benjamin, who died in infancy, and Henry C. The latter was a member of company B, 104th regiment P.V. He died May 31, 1862, the day of the battle of Fair Oaks, when so many of his comrades fell in battle. Our subject was reared on a farm, and has always followed farming. He has lived here all his life. He owns a farm of 52 acres, and is also engaged in the nursery business. He was married November 3, 1870, to Cassie H., daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Hiestand) Stover. Mr. Fell is an industrious and intelligent citizen.

Dr. JOSEPH FOULKE, physician, P.O. Buckingham, was born on January 27, 1827, in Gwynedd township, Montgomery county, Pa. His parents were Joseph and Elizabeth Foulke. Their ancestors came from Wales to this country in 1698. He was educated at the Gwynedd boarding school, of which his father was principal, and also an eminent minister of the Society of Friends. In 1845, at the organization of the Friends’ Central School, of Philadelphia, he became assistant teacher under the noted Professor Benjamin Hallowell. About 1848 Dr. Joseph became principal of the Gwynedd boarding-school, which position he held for several years. He graduated from the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, April 1, 1854, commencing practice May 1, 1854, in the city of Philadelphia. There he remained until the spring of 1857, when he visited Europe, attending some of the medical schools and hospitals of Paris and London. In 1859 he came to Centerville, where he has since been in practice. He has built up a good practice, which extends far and near. Dr. Joseph Foulke is a member of the Bucks County Medical Society, of which he was secretary for about 21 years. In 1870 he was elected a member of the board of trustees of the Hughsian Free School, and in 1874 was elected treasurer of the same institution, which position he still occupies. He has performed the astronomical calculations for the Friends’ Almanac from 1847 to the present time. His father commenced this work in 1832. He was married in 1858 to Caroline Chambers, of Philadelphia, by whom he has six children: Elizabeth C., Phoebe F., Caroline, Hannah, William D., and Melissa E. He is also a member of the American Medical Association. The doctor is a prominent and enterprising citizen of Bucks county.

JOHN M. GRAY, farmer, P.O. Forest Grove, was born in Buckingham township, Bucks county, August 16, 1836, and is a son of Samuel and Julia A. (Robinson) Gray, of Bucks county, the latter of Irish descent, and native of New Jersey. His grandfather, John Gray, came from Ireland at an early day, and settled in Buckingham township, where he bought a farm and lived until his death. Samuel Gray, father of John, was a blacksmith by trade, which he followed during the early part of his life, afterward being a farmer. He had two sons and one daughter, all deceased, except John M., who was reared on a farm, and has always followed farming as an occupation. In 1876 he built a fine residence in Forest Grove, where he now resides. He owns several fine farms, and is one of the directors of the Forest Grove Creamery. He is also a director of the Doylestown & Buckingham turnpike. He has been supervisor one term, and is also township auditor. He was married in 1860 to Rachel R. Fell, by whom he has one child, Samuel C. Mr. Gray is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and of the I.O.O.F. Lodge of Warrington. He is an enterprising man, and a prominent and influential citizen. In the spring of 1885 he was elected a director of the Doylestown Agricultural Society.

WILLIAM H. HARTLEY, farmer, P.O. Pineville, was born in Buckingham township, July 4, 1836, and is a son of Levi and Rachel (Heaton) Hartley, and of English and German descent. The pioneers of the Hartley family emigrated from England in the 16th century, and settled in the lower part of Bucks county. Six brothers came over, all of whom settled in this county. The father of William H. was a farmer during the early part of his life, but later on kept the toll-gate at Centerville. He had five children: Mary A., George W., Eliza A. (deceased), William H., and Eli (deceased), who was the oldest and died in Philadelphia in 1886. He was a tailor by trade and run a large merchant tailor establishment. He left a large fortune, which he willed to his brother and sisters and his wife. William H. was reared in this township, and at the age of fifteen years began to learn the blacksmith’s trade. He served three years’ apprenticeship and then worked at journey-work, following his trade up. to 1883, when he gave it up and is now living retired. He was married December 18, 1858, to Sarah E. Girton, by whom he has five children: James H., married to Amanda B. Maine, resides in Dakota; Mary, wife of Pierson Eddows; George W., Eli, and Willie.

JAMES K. HIBBS, farmer, P.O. Pineville, was born in Buckingham township, Bucks county, April 6, 1828, and is a son of William and Marjorie (Kirk) Hibbs, natives of Bucks county and of English descent. This branch of the family came here at an early day and settled near Newtown. The grandfather Hibbs was a farmer, and lived and died on a farm near Newtown. William Hibbs was also a farmer, and just before his marriage moved up from Northampton to Buckingham township, and located at Pineville, where he bought a farm and lived until his death. He had four children: James K.; Eliza, married Joseph Atkinson, of Buckingham; Mary, married Richard Janney, of Solebury; and William H., married Elmira Malone, of Buckingham. William H. served three years in the 104th regiment, company C, Pennsylvania Volunteers. James K. was reared on a farm and has always followed farming. In 1868 he bought and removed to the place where he now resides. He was married in December, 1868, to Esther, daughter of Edward Williams. Mr. and Mrs. Hibbs are the parents of three children:

Edward W., Mabel K. and J. Russell.

JAMES C. IDEN, retired, P.O. Buckingham, was born in Warwick township, Bucks county, January 5, 1813, and is a son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Chapman) Iden, natives of Bucks county and of Welsh and English descent. His great-great-grandfather, Randall Iden, took passage at Bristol, England, on a sailing vessel and on the voyage he died, and was buried at sea. His wife while in port gave birth to a child whose name was Randall. She was left with nine children in Falls township. She was the first of the Iden family to settle in this county, which she did about 1690. The great-grandfather, Randall, married a Miss Greenfield, who came from New England. He died in Richland township this county. The grandfather’s name was also Randall. He was a farmer and owned a farm in Richland township. He died in 1812. He was a strict Quaker and at the time of the war of the revolution was twice robbed of all his bed-clothing. Our subject’s father was also a farmer. He moved to Buckingham township in 1816, and followed farming until his death, with the exception of about one year, when his son, James C., took charge of the farm. He had two children, one of whom is living, our subject. The latter was brought up as a farmer, which business he followed until 1850, when he rented his farm and was employed in a store at Centerville, where he remained a short time. He was postmaster from 1855 to 1859, after which he did some conveyancing. In 1871 he was elected county auditor and served one term. He has also been township auditor for about eighteen years. He is one of the trustees of the Hughsian Free School and a director in the library. He has been treasurer of the Centerville & Pineville pike ever since its start in 1859. Mr. Iden is one of the prominent citizens of Bucks county. His ancestry presumably dates back to the time of Henry VI. and Shakespeare. He is a public-spirited, intelligent, and enterprising citizen, and has won the confidence of all with whom he has done business. Mr. Iden is the only person of the name in the State.

WILLIAM JOHNSON was a native of Ireland, which country he left in early manhood and arrived here about the year 1750. His motive for the change may perhaps be explained by the motto on the family coat-of-arms, "Ubi libertas, ibi patria." Little is known of his early history, as he was taken from his family while yet young. He was a man of the highest scholastic attainments and left many manuscript lectures on various scientific subjects. Those upon electricity bear date of 1763 and were probably delivered at that time. He had one of the best loadstones in this country, which he used to illustrate his lectures on magnetism. It was afterward presented to Princeton College, under the following circumstances: Calling one day at the college on a visit to its president, he found that gentleman and his wife amusing themselves by picking up needles with a small loadstone. Professor Johnson at once sent over to his own house for his large stone, and astonished the president and his wife by picking up with it a large pair of fire-tongs with the shovel tied thereto. He then presented the stone to the college and it is now among the curiosities of the college museum. He also presented to the same institution the original electrical machine made by Benjamin Franklin. When he crossed the ocean he brought over with him four hundred volumes of standard works; a portion of them are now in possession of his descendants in Buckingham, through Ann Johnson, his granddaughter, who married Thomas Paxson. After about two years’ residence in America he married Ruth Potts, of Trenton, N.J., who was a sister of the mayor of that city. He was the only one of his brothers that chose America as an abiding-place, although Gervis Johnson, a minister in the Society of Friends, travelled through it in that capacity, and visited his brother’s grave in South Carolina. He died at the early age of 32 years, leaving a widow with three children. Sarah, the eldest child, became the wife of Thomas Mathews of Virginia. Hon. Stanley Mathews of the Supreme Court of the United States is a lineal descendant. Thomas Potts Johnson, the second child, became an eminent lawyer of New Jersey, and his portrait, until quite lately, and possibly at the present time, hangs in the court-house at Flemington. He left numerous descendants; Dr. Foulke, of New Hope, is a great-great-grandson. Samuel Johnson, the third child; was born in Philadelphia in 1763, and shortly afterward his parents removed to Charleston, where they remained until he attained his fourth year. At that time his father died, and his mother, with four children, returned to Philadelphia. They finally moved to Trenton, where they resided at the time of the memorable battle there during the revolution. He moved to Bucks county in 1786 and purchased the property long known as "Elm Grove," the residence in later time of the late George G. Maris, near Lahaska. He planted the row of Sycamore trees at the bridge on the turnpike opposite Daniel Smith’s residence. He brought them from the Delaware river on horseback. While living there he married Martha Hutchinson, daughter of Matthias Hutchinson, who was one of the associate judges of the courts of Bucks county. He was also the master mason builder of Friends’ meeting-house, Buckingham, as it now stands. Samuel Johnson disposed of the "Elm Grove" property and purchased a large farm extending from the present Holicong well to the mountain. "Bycot House," the residence of Judge Paxson, is situated on this tract. He was a successful farmer, and held the office of justice of the peace for many years. In the year 1801 he retired from active business and moved to the residence of his son-in-law, Thomas Paxson. At this period his literary life may with propriety be said to have commenced. His time was generally devoted to reading, conversing with friends or in poetic composition, his favorite pastime. He was a poet of more than ordinary merit and his verses are marked by an easy flow of language that led them to be much admired. Two volumes of his poems have been published, the last and largest one in 1844. It is entitled the "Triple Wreath;" and contains also a number of poems from his two daughters who seemed to have inherited the poetic talent of their father. Samuel Johnson was without the benefit of a collegiate course of education, his father being taken away while he was young, and his mother having four small children to care for. She was a woman of much culture and refinement and her son as he advanced in years proved a true type of the Irish character. He was companionable for old or young, and his ready wit and humor made him prominent in the social circle. His useful life came to a close in 1840, aged 81 years. His wife died a few years previously. There were three children; Elizabeth, born in 1790, married Jonathan Pickering of Solebury in 1814, and a few years thereafter moved to Philadelphia, and finally to Germantown, where she died.

Ann Johnson, second child of Samuel and Martha Johnson, was born at "Elm Grove," Buckingham, in 1792, and married Thomas Paxson in 1817. She was a woman of mark. The warm impulsive nature that distinguished her ancestors found a home with her. Whenever by sacrifice and self-devotion a fellow-being could be made more comfortable she was the good Samaritan, and the numerous homes of want and sickness that it was her wont to visit, call to grateful remembrance her many acts of Christian kindness and charity. She was a writer of much merit, both in prose and poetry, and her "Memoirs of the Johnson family, with an autobiography," has left her name wreathed in the myrtle memory of family and large circle of devoted friends. She died in 1883, in her 92d year. Samuel Johnson Paxson, deceased, and Albert S. Paxson, Esq., and Judge Paxson, of Buckingham, are her children.

William H. Johnson, third child of Samuel and Martha Johnson, was born in 1794. He was a classical scholar and mathematician, and received instruction at Enoch Lewis’ celebrated school. He married Mary, daughter of Jacob Paxson, of Abington, Montgomery county, in 1818, and engaged in agricultural pursuits on his father’s farm in Buckingham. In this he was successful for a time, but his impulsive nature warmed up to the seeming evils in our land, and he became a leader in the temperance and anti-slavery movements. He was honest in his convictions, and he lived at a time when to be a reformer was attended with much personal sacrifice. He was a member of the Society of Friends, but their methods of accomplishing reforms seemed slow to him, and he therefore united with various organizations having a single purpose in view. He did not sever his connection with the Friends, however, although most of his interest was centered elsewhere. He was not a fluent speaker, but, as was said by a contemporary, "give him a goose-quill" and he will be a match for any one. He was a vigorous writer, and his essays in the Bucks county "Intelligencer" some forty years ago, signed "Humanitas," show a wide expanse of thought. He was a close student, and he never allowed his Latin and Greek to grow rusty. He continued his contribution to various journals until late in life. He died at the residence of his son-in-law, Stephen T. Janney, in Newtown, and he will be remembered by very many of the people of the middle and lower end of this county. He lived to see slavery abolished, but intemperance, a twin sister with slavery as he considered, survived him.

WILLIAM F. KELLY, farmer, P.O. Doylestown, was born in Queens county, Ireland, August 15, 1823, and is a son of Garrett and Ann (Fines) Kelly. The father of William F. was a farmer, and had eleven children: William F., Michael, Margaret, Maria, Patrick, James, Thomas, John, and three who died in Ireland. William F. was reared on a farm in his native country until he was 27 years of age. On September 15, 1850, he took passage at Dublin on the sailing vessel "Carry." He landed at New York, on October 15, 1850. He remained one week in that city, thence moved to Horsham, Montgomery county, Pa., and went to work on a farm, remaining two and a half years in one place, a part of this time having full charge of the farm. He then went to Hatboro and remained one year. In 1854 he went to farming on shares with the same party that he worked for when he first came here. He remained on this farm until 1863, and in 1864 removed to Springfield township, where he remained until 1873, when he came to Bucks county and bought the farm where he now lives, consisting of 118 acres. He has made a great many improvements, and the surroundings show that Mr. Kelly is a man of good taste. He was married January 11, 1859, to Catherine Phalan, who is also a native of Queens county, Ireland. They have four children: Jeremiah, Daniel, William, and Thomas. Mr. and Mrs. Kelly are members of the Catholic church of Doylestown. He has two sisters and three brothers in this country.

WILLIAM M. KIRK, merchant, P.O. Forest Grove, was born in Buckingham township, Bucks county, December 21, 1821, being a son of William and Phoebe (Malone) Kirk, of Irish descent. This branch of the Kirk family were among the early settlers and are quite numerous in Bucks county. William Kirk, the father of William M., was a farmer in Buckingham township. He raised a family of nine children, five of whom still survive: Albert, John M., William M., S. Smith, and Charles M. William M. received his education in the district schools until he had attained the age of 16 years, at which time he entered a store at Forest Grove as clerk, remaining in this position several years. In 1857 he bought the store and has continued the business since, with the exception of about two years. The firm is now known as W.M. Kirk & Son. They keep a general line of merchandise. He was married in 1846 to Elmira Johnson, by whom he has two children, only one of whom is living, C. Johnson, married to Lydia Scarborough. Mr. Kirk is esteemed by all who have dealt with him.

JOSEPH H. LEARY, retired, P.O. Doylestown, was born in Philadelphia, November 11, 1838, and is a son of John and Mary (Donovan) Leary, both of whom came from Ireland in 1836, and settled in Philadelphia. John Leary learned the weaver’s trade in his native land, and carried it on there. He was married in Ireland, and had one daughter born there. After arriving in Philadelphia, he was engaged in coffee-roasting, which he followed during his lifetime in that city, and died in 1869. He was the father of ten children, three of whom are living: Joseph H.; Margaret, wife of James Malone, resides in San Francisco; and Ellen, wife of Dr. Buchman, resides in Philadelphia. Those deceased are: Daniel, two children named John, Mary, and William. Joseph H. was reared in Philadelphia, where he received his education. At the age of 17 years he entered the lithographing establishment of Wagner & McGuigan, and served an apprenticeship of four years, being with this firm five years. He then went into the coffee-roasting business, followed that until 1876, when he bought the place to which he retired, his health being feeble. He has sold his present farm, and is going to move to Doylestown and build. He was married in 1876 to Emma Giberson, by whom he has three children: Edward, Ella, and Mary. Mr. and Mrs. Leary are members of the Catholic church of Doylestown. He is an enterprising and intelligent citizen.

JOHN NIBLICK, deceased, was born in Buckingham township, June 18, 1810, and was a son of James and Sarah (Jamison) Niblick, both natives of Scotland. James came to this country in his youth, remained several years, then returned, married and brought his wife over, settling in Buckingham township, where he lived until his death. He followed farming, and was twice married. He had seven children by his first wife, and three by his second. John Niblick was a resident of Buckingham township all his life. He was a very successful farmer, and owned four farms at the time of his death. He was married December 13, 1838, to Mary, daughter of Charles and Margery (Clymer) Selner. Mr. and Mrs. Niblick were the parents of eleven children, six of whom are living: George D., married to Emma L. Briggs; Amanda E., wife of Harry McDowell; Franklin P., married to Lizzie Devinie; Sallie L., wife of Lafayette De Coursey; Maria L., wife of William C. Betts, and Samuel C. Those deceased were: Sarah, James, Charles, Jacob, and Anna M. Mr. Niblick died December 4, 1885. Mrs. Niblick still retains the farms, consisting of about 362 acres of land. Mr. De Coursey lives on the farm with the widow.

Dr. H. NIELDS, physician, P.O. Mozart, was born in Chester, Pa., February 26, 1834, and is a son of John and Ann (Williamson) Nields, natives of Chester county, and of Scotch descent. The grandfather came from Scotland and settled in Delaware, and afterward removed to Chester county. John Nields, father of H.J., followed farming all his life. He was the father of seven children, five of whom are living: Evan, Margaretta, wife of Jacob W. Harvey, superintendent of Chester county schools; Henry J., Harvey, and John Wesley. Dr. Henry J. was reared on a farm, where he remained until the age of eighteen years. He then learned the carpenter’s trade, which he followed until he was 21, working in the day time, and studying at night. He then entered the Pennsylvania Medical College University, where he graduated in 1857, and practised in Chester county, about four years. He then moved to Philadelphia and started a drug-store at Tenth and Thompson streets, remaining about two years. In 1869 he came to Bucks county and located at Concord, purchasing the property, where he has since carried on an extensive practice. He was married in 1857 to Caroline V. Lancaster, a native of Bucks county, by whom be has three children: Selena, Emma E., and Ella W. Dr. Nields is a member of the Knights of the Golden Eagle.

THE PAXSON FAMILY.— James Paxson, Henry Paxson the elder, and William Paxson were brothers, and came to Pennsylvania in 1682 in the ship "Samuel" of London, England. Henry came from the parish of Stowe, Oxfordshire. He was a member of the Society of Friends, and brought a certificate from Biddleston, in the county of Bucks. He called his home "Bycot House," which is believed to be the ancestral home for many generations. Judge Paxson, of Pennsylvania, in visiting England recently, made a visit there, and found a Henry Paxson yet occupying the premises. James Paxson and his brother William came from the parish of Marsh Gibbon, which is in the vicinity of Stowe. They were also Friends, and brought certificates from Coleshill meeting. They spelled the name Paxton then, and those of their kindred that remain there still adhere to it. At what period they changed it in this country does not clearly appear. A few, however, those living in Catawissa, this state, spell it with a "t." On a map of Newtown, published in 1703, Henry Paxon, yet another style, is marked as a property holder there. The wife of Henry, the elder, died at sea on the voyage over, as also her son Henry, who died the day before his mother. One or more of the three brothers settled in Middletown, but the next generation spread their outstretched arms over most of southern Bucks county.

James Paxson, from whom are descended most of the name in Solebury and Buckingham, was married in England, and his wife died in 1710. James died in 1722, leaving children: Sarah, William, Henry, and James.

William Paxson, second child of James, was born in 1675, and in 1696 married Abigail Pownell. He died in 1719, leaving children: James, Thomas, Reuben, Esther, Abigail, Mary, and Anna. Henry Paxson, another son of James, was born in 1683, and married Ann Plumly in 1706. He bought 250 acres of land in Solebury, and settled there. He was in the assembly in 1705—7, and somewhat prominent in public affairs. He died in 1728, leaving twelve children, and their descendants fairly swarm over the hills and valleys of Solebury, and are likely to do so for an indefinite period.

Thomas Paxson, a grandson of James, through William, was the owner of a large tract of land in Solebury between Center bridge and the Delaware, including the present Johnson estate and an island in the river opposite, containing about one hundred acres. The Johnson mansion was probably built by him, and here he brought up his family. The old Paxson homestead where his father William settled is thought to be on the back road from Center hill to the river. Thomas was married in 1732 to Jane Canby, a daughter of Thomas Canby, and died in 1782, leaving eight children. They intermarried with the Taylors, Watsons, Blakeys, Shaws, Knowles, and Biles, and have left a large following here and elsewhere.

Jacob Paxson, the fourth child of Thomas Paxson and Jane Canby, was born in Solebury in 1745 and married Lydia Blakey in 1769. He purchased a farm and mill property on Tacony creek, Montgomery county, and settled thereon. He was left a widower with two children, and in 1777 he married Mary Shaw, of Plumstead, by whom he had thirteen children, the most of whom married and had large families scattered throughout Bucks, Montgomery and Chester counties. He died while on a visit to his son-in-law, William H. Johnson, in Buckingham, in 1832, and was buried at Abington, his home. He lived within the memory of a few of the present generation, and has left a character and name unsullied.

Thomas Paxson, one of Jacob’s family of fifteen, was born in Montgomery county in 1793, and married Ann Johnson, daughter of Samuel Johnson, in 1817. They settled on the homestead at Abington, but moved to Buckingham, this county, in 1819. Later in life he purchased a portion of the Johnson homestead near the mountain, now the residence of his son, Judge Edward M. Paxson, and known as "Bycot House." His useful life came to a close in April, 1881, at the advanced age of 88 years. He was buried from the meeting-house, where he had been a constant attendant twice a week for more than sixty years. Into that old historical edifice, rich in remembrance of its many scenes of both bridals and burials, friends true and devoted were assembled, for it was here on a bright autumnal morn in 1817 that the fitting vows of love and constancy were spoken that remained unbroken until now that his bark had crossed the mystic river, while hers yet lingered on the shores of time. A few fitting words of love and sympathy by Caleb E. Wright, and the earth closed over all that was mortal of Thomas Paxson. He was no ordinary man. He took an active part in the scenes of life and had strong convictions of right and wrong, and if need be, strenuous in their defense. Order in him found an earnest advocate and living example, and the old landmarks of Friends that had distinguished them as a people were held in reverence. That portion of the discipline so lightly passed over by many, viz: "Are Friends punctual to their promises and just in the payment of their debts?" was closely observed by him. He was conservative in his views, and while an earnest advocate of all true reforms for the improvement of mankind, he believed the religious society of which he was a member had a broad mission to fulfil, and with the Christian religion as a basis was able to lead out of all error. He has left an example of devotion and sacrifice rarely met with, and in his death the Society of Friends has lost an earnest supporter.

Samuel Johnson Paxson, oldest child of Thomas and Ann J. Paxson, was born in Montgomery county in 1818, and married Mary Anna, daughter of the late Joseph Broadhurst in 1840. He commenced business as a farmer, but in 1842, in connection with his brother Edward, commenced the publication of the "Newtown Journal," which they carried on successfully, but Mr. Paxson seeing a wider field at Doylestown, parted with his interest in the paper to his brother, and bought out the "Doylestown Democrat" of Judge Bryan in 1845. He had nothing with which to purchase save an indomitable energy of character and perseverance. These he brought to bear, and with the aid of good friends entered upon his duties with a zeal that rarely fails of success. He was the first to introduce a Hoe press in this county driven by steam, and he infused new life into the columns of his paper. The old landmarks and Rip Van Winkle somnolence of county journalism were swept away and new methods, more in accordance with the spirit of the age, adopted. A few shook their heads mysteriously at this new departure, but the success attending his efforts was soon apparent and other journals were not slow in following. As Mr. Paxson was the first to introduce these and other improvements, so long as he held connection with the paper he maintained its superiority as a newspaper over all rivals. The late Judge Ross very truthfully observed that "Mr. Paxson occupied that relation to the local press of Pennsylvania which James Gordon Bennett so long retained to the journalism of New York." Close application to business in a few years impaired his health somewhat and admonished him to retire from the confining duties of a printing-office, and in 1858 he sold it to Gen. W.W.H. Davis. He was a past-master of Doylestown Lodge, No. 245, F. and A.M. Mr. Paxson purchased a small farm in Buckingham and removed thereto, but his health continued to decline, and at the close of day on the 28th of May, 1864, he gazed for the last time on the mountain and valley he loved so well, and in the departing twilight his lamp of life faded flickeringly out; his labor over and his duty done, he fell asleep—

"Like one

Who wraps the drapery of his couch around him
And lies down to pleasant dreams."

He left two daughters: Helen, who married J. Hart Bye, and lives in Delaware, and Carrie, who married Watson B. Malone, and lives in the mansion erected by Mr. Paxson near Holicong. His widow also resides at the old home.

Albert S. Paxson, second child of Thomas and Ann J. Paxson, was born in Buckingham, a short distance from where he now resides, in 1820. His life thus far has not been a very eventful one. In early life he had the benefit of such instructors as the late Joseph Fell and William H. Johnson, and at the age of 19 engaged in teaching a public school in Montgomery county near where his father had taught many years before. At that time the present free school system had just gone into operation there, and methods of teaching were much changed. On returning to Buckingham in 1840 he taught at the historic "Tyro Hall," wherein Joseph S. Large, William H. Johnson, Joseph Fell, and other eminent teachers had many years before swayed the sceptre. He also taught several years at Friends’ School near Buckingham meeting. This was before the present system was in operation here, Bucks being slow in its adoption. In the year 1844 he married Mercy, daughter of Dr. Jesse Beans, of Solebury, and relinquished teaching to engage in agricultural pursuits. In 1849 he lost his wife, and in 1851 moved to Doylestown and assisted as local editor and general manager of the "Doylestown Democrat." In 1854 he married Lavinia S., daughter of the late Aaron Ely, of Buckingham, and in 1856 removed to the old Ely homestead that had been occupied by them continuously since 1720. In early life he adhered to the traditions of his ancestors and until the fall of Henry Clay and the disintegration of the time-honored whig party, when he joined the democratic legion and has since acted with them. While a decided partisan he is broad and liberal in his views, and enjoys the confidence and respect of the community at large. He was before the people as a candidate for justice of the peace in 1873, and was elected without serious opposition. At the end of the five year term the office had increased in importance and his success in adjusting difficulties between contending parties had drawn business largely from surrounding townships. It was thought to be highly remunerative likewise, and the aspirants to its honors were not a few. The contest settled down to two candidates, however, and after an all-day battle, with an adverse political majority of 200 against him, he was re-elected by a large majority over an honorable competitor and worthy man. After ten years’ service he retired, and having relinquished farming during his term of office found a congenial place in his well-stored library, and occasionally gives the public some productions from his pen. He writes under a nom de plume, and while his contributions have not been voluminous, his "Memories of the Past," "Notes of Southern Travel," and "Travels in the West" and other kindred productions would perhaps place him among the first essayists of Bucks county. By his first wife he had one child, Mary, who married Robert Howell Brown, of Mount Holly, N.J. She was left a widow soon after with one child. She died at "Bycot House," her home, July 20, 1887, in her 42d year. She left one child, T. Howell Brown, who has grown to manhood and is engaged with Mr. Dalrymple, the great wheat-grower in Dakota. The children by his second wife are: William, born in 1856, died in infancy; Edward E., born May 7, 1860, is a banker and resides in Philadelphia; and Captain Henry D., born October 1, 1862, commissioned captain of Company G, 6th regiment, First Brigade, National Guard of Pennsylvania, February 28, 1887; read law in the office of George Ross and L.L. James, and was admitted to the bar of Bucks county May 16, 1887. He is an antiquary and a lawyer of considerable promise.

Hon. Edward M. Paxson, the third son of Thomas and Ann J. Paxson, was born in Buckingham, Bucks county, Pa., September 3, 1824. Though his early education was thorough he did not take a collegiate course, but fitted himself in the classics and the higher branches of learning by his own private exertions. At the age of 16 he was successful in obtaining over many competitors a complete copy in library style of the Waverly Novels, it being a prize offered by the editor of the "Saturday Evening Post" for the best essay or tale. When quite a young man he formed the idea of establishing a newspaper in his native county. He first learned the practical part of the business necessary to enable him to carry on successfully a country newspaper, and in 1842, while yet only 18 years of age, he established the "Newtown Journal," at Newtown, this county, which at once under his management took a flattering position in the consideration of the public men of the county and state. April 30, 1846, he was married to Mary Caroline Newlin, of Philadelphia, daughter of the late Nathaniel Newlin, of Delaware county, and Rachel H., his wife. They settled in Newtown. During the summer of 1847 he sold his printing establishment, which had been so successfully and creditably conducted, and established the "Daily News" in the city of Philadelphia. In the following year he disposed of his interest in the "News" to John P. Sanderson for the purpose of adopting the more congenial profession of the law. In pursuance of this desire he removed to Doylestown and entered the law office of Hon. Henry Chapman, then a practising attorney in Doylestown and afterward the president judge of the Chester court and later that of Bucks. He was duly admitted to the bar of Bucks county April 24, 1850, removed to Philadelphia and began practice there in 1852. By long and studied attention to business, and the practice of the same qualities of patience and industry which had characterized his early youth, he rose to an enviable position at the bar, and was the trusted counsellor of business men, who gave him the care of large interests before the courts and in the consultation room. His staunch republican record during the war marked him for executive recognition, and when, the opportunity arose by the resignation of Judge F. Carroll Brewster, in 1869, from the common pleas bench of Philadelphia, Governor Geary at once appointed him to fill the vacancy, and in the handsomest manner, as there had been none of the usual influences of personal and friendly solicitation brought to bear upon the governor to secure the appointment. At once he showed such marked ability for the performance of the duties of a judge that the party at their convention in the following June tendered him the almost unanimous nomination for the same position. The people at the following October election ratified this confidence of the party leaders by a vote which showed a decided preference in his favor over the rest of the ticket. The reputation of Judge Paxson acquired in the lower court commended him as a proper nominee for the higher. He was therefore placed in nomination by the republican party at their state convention, and in conjunction with Warren J. Woodward, duly elected to the supreme bench. He was commissioned November 2, 1874. It was flattering to his friends that the new supreme judge at once took a commanding position among his judicial brethren. By his ability and industry he has sustained himself therein. His opinions, always on time for publication, are distinguished by terseness, clearness and appropriate diction. They always give evidence of his accurate knowledge of the law, a knowledge rendered clear to the comprehension of others by excellence of style. An examination of the supreme court reports for some years past will show that no member of that bench has contributed more opinions than Judge Paxson. Many of the most important cases brought into that tribunal, especially that of Asa Packer vs. Noble, reported in 7th Outerbridge, were committed to his hands, the confidence reposed in him by his yoke-fellows in office being thus rendered apparent. The first wife of this distinguished jurist died at Bycot House, Buckingham, June 7, 1885. She was interred at Laurel Hill. The judge was married to Mary Martha S. Bridges, widow of the late congressman, deceased, Samuel A. Bridges, of Lehigh county, at Allentown, December 1, 1886.

RICHARD R. PAXSON, merchant and postmaster, P.O. Lahaska, was born in Solebury township in 1828, and is a son of Thomas and Hannah (Canby) Paxson, natives of this county and of English descent. The great-grandfather, Thomas Paxson, was married in 1732. He settled in Solebury township. The grandfather, Benjamin, was a farmer, also our subject’s father. The latter had six children, three of whom are living: Deborah, Elias E., and Richard R. The father died in 1843. Our subject was reared on a farm until 21 years of age. He began his mercantile life at New Hope, where he remained two years. In October, 1851, he came to Lahaska, where he has carried on business over 35 years. He carries a line of general merchandise. He is secretary of the Doylestown Mutual Insurance Company, also secretary and treasurer of the Lahaska Insurance Company, which position he has held for 17 years. He was a school-director of Buckingham township for nine years. He has been postmaster at Lahaska since 1859, and had previously held the office for two years. He was married in 1851 to Eleanor, daughter of Thomas and Mary Ely. They have had eight children, five of whom are still living: Thomas E., Harriet F., Anna L., Oliver H., and R. Randolph.

BENJAMIN S. RICH, retired, P.O. Holicong, was born in New Britain township, June 5, 1810, and is a son of Anthony and Maria (Mann) Rich, natives of Bucks county, and of English descent. The first of the family to settle in this county was John Rich, who settled in Solebury township in 1730. He purchased a large farm and lived there several years. He then moved to Plumstead township. The ancestors of the family owned Warwick Castle in England. The grandfather, Jonathan, was a miller and afterward a farmer. He bought a farm in Plumstead and lived there until his death. Our subject’s father was born in Plumstead township, where he lived several years, then moved to New Britain township, afterward to Doylestown township, and from there he moved into Buckingham township. He worked very hard during his lifetime and by economy and industry he accumulated about 300 acres of land. He had 15 children: Benjamin S., Jonathan (deceased), Mary (deceased), John M., Martha (deceased), Preston Y., Josiah. (deceased), Elizabeth A. (deceased), Elmira, James S. (deceased), Susan W., Anthony W., Emily C., Sarah E. (deceased), and one who died in infancy. Benjamin S. Rich was about one year old when his parents moved to Doylestown township, and he came with them to Buckingham township and remained with them until he was 24 years old. He then began teaching school and taught for seven years, two years in Philadelphia. In 1842 he moved to Solebury and bought a farm. After the death of his father he bought the place where he now lives. He was engaged in surveying for 44 years. He was secretary Of the Farmers and Mechanics’ Insurance Association for 44 years, when he resigned and was elected its president, which position he still holds. He was the instigator of this institution and carried it on until they had over $8,000,000 insurance. He has been justice of the peace for over 30 years and has held several other township offices. He has been superintendent of the Presbyterian Sabbath school 39 years. He built the hall in which they hold services. Mr. Rich is an influential and prominent citizen. He was married first, in 1839, to Emeline McNait, by whom he had three children, one living, Matilda, wife of William Wiley, who resides in Philadelphia. His wife died May 21, 1841, and he was again married to Elizabeth H. Hart, November 15, 1854. By her he had one child, John H. His wife died October 10, 1855, and he was married to Isabella T. Harrar, December 16, 1863, and by her he had one child, Caroline A. Mr. Rich has been a member of the Presbyterian church since 1840, and ruling elder since 1853.

WILLIAM ROCKAFELLOW, farmer, P.O. Mozart, was born in Huntingdon county, N.J., April 9, 1816, and is a son of William and Rachel (Thatcher) Rockafellow, who are of German descent. The Rockafellow family came from Germany to New Jersey at an early day, and purchased farms, the family generally following farming. The father of William had ten children, six of whom are living: Aaron, William, Tunis, Samuel, Rachel, and Elizabeth. Those deceased are: Jonas, John, Sarah, and Margaret. William was reared on a farm in New Jersey until 13 years of age, when he came with his parents to Bucks county and settled in Buckingham township, where he has since resided. The father died in Chester county. William has lived for 37 years on his present farm, which is a valuable one. He was married in 1841 to Mary A. Worthington, by whom he has had seven children: Benjamin, Anna, wife of Charles L. Smith; Sarah, wife of Henry Wilkinson; William H., married to Anna Malloy; Fannie, wife of Albert Wilkinson. The ones deceased were Mary and Rachel. Mr. Rockafellow’s wife is deceased. Benjamin Rockafellow married Sallie Doan.

CHARLES M. SHAW, retired, P.O. Lahaska, was born in Plumstead township, Bucks county, June 11, 1809, and is a son of Aaron and Susan B. (Brown) Shaw, natives of Bucks county and of English descent. Aaron Shaw was a mechanic by trade, but lived a retired life during the latter part of his life, and died in Buckingham township. He was the father of seven children, two of whom are living, Charles M. and Harvey. The former was reared on a farm, where he remained during the early part of his life. He has lived most of his life in Buckingham township, where he owns a large farm. In 1857 he moved to the place where he now resides, and for several years has lived a retired life. He has held the office of collector for a number of years, and is also a director of turnpikes and bridges, among them the Delaware bridge. He has been connected with insurance companies for a number of years, and has been an influential and prominent man. He was married in 1834 to Eunice Fell, by whom he had one child, Anna E. Mr. Shaw is a member of the Society of Friends. His wife is deceased.

JOSEPH SMITH, deceased, was born in Wrightstown township, February 10, 1809, and was a son of William and Margaret (Worthington) Smith, natives of Bucks county and of English descent. The grandfather, Joseph Smith, engaged in the manufacture of ploughs and pumps, and made the first patent plough in Bucks county. Our subject was a farmer, and pump-maker, and carried on both these vocations for several years. After marrying, he moved to Penn’s Park, where he carried on pump-making for three years, and then moved to Newtown, where he bought a farm and lived for sixteen years. In 1857 he moved to Buckirigham township and purchased the farm where the widow now resides, living here until his death May 25, 1882. He was an honest and intelligent citizen. He was married March 22, 1838, to Sarah, daughter of Jacob and Priscilla (Buckman) Twining. They had seven children: Thomas T., Margaretta, wife of Ezra Michener; Priscilla A., wife of John Pool; Mary E., Henrietta, wife of Edward Slack; Sallie and Rachel. Mrs. Smith is a member of the Friends’ meeting.

DANIEL SMITH, retired, P.O. Lahaska, was born in Buckingham township, Bucks county, March 2, 1795, and is a son of Joseph and Ann (Smith) Smith, of English descent. Robert Smith was the first to come to this county, and settled in Upper Makefield township at an early day. The tradition is that his father, who started from England with his wife and children, died on the passage and was buried at sea. In 1738 Robert Smith built a stone addition to his log house which is yet standing, and has been occupied as a dwelling house by six generations of the family. Robert and Joseph Smith, grandsons of Robert and Phebe Smith of Buckingham township, made the first plough ever made with an iron mould board. Joseph Smith was the first person in Bucks county who was successful in burning anthracite coal for fuel. The first experiment was made by heating anthracite red hot with charcoal, which proved a failure, but he did not despair, and eventually succeeded in getting it to work right. He was the founder of Smithtown, having removed there in 1802, and erected a number of houses and shops. It was in one of these shops, about 1812, that the first Lehigh coal was burned. He died in 1826, aged 73 years. He had twelve children: Jonathan, Joseph, William, George, Mahlon, Amos, Charles, Jonas, Albert and Phoebe, all deceased. Those living are Sarah, who resides in Doylestown; and Daniel, who was the youngest of ten sons and lived with an uncle and aunt from childhood. He was married at 29 years of age and continued to live on his uncle and aunt’s farm in Plumstead township, which he inherited at their death in 1843, where he lived until April 3, 1866, when he moved to the place where he now resides. Mr. Smith is in his 93d year, retains his faculties, and is a very active man for his age. He was married in April, 1824, to Hannah, daughter of Stephen and Hannah (Blackfan) Betts. Mr. and Mrs. Smith had six children, four of whom are living: Anna E., Esther, Samuel, deceased, Martha, Letitia R., wife of Timothy Atkinson, deceased; Hannah B., deceased. James Willis Atkinson, son of Timothy and Letitia R. Atkinson, was born in Wrightstown, September 25, 1866. The family are all members of the Society of Friends, and are influential and prominent in the county.

CHARLES H. WILLIAMS, deceased, was born in Buckingham township, December 30, 1843, and was a son of Edward and Phoebe E. (Scofield) Williams, the former a native of Bucks county and the latter of Virginia and both of English descent. His grandfather was Samuel Williams, who was a resident of Buckingham township. He was a farmer by occupation. Our subject’s father, Edward, was quite a prominent man and widely known for honesty and integrity. He held several positions of trust. He was a trustee of the Hughsian free school, and president of a turnpike company. He had three children by his first wife, only one living, John S. He had seven by his second marriage: Charles H., deceased, Esther S., Mary E., William (deceased), E. Marshall (residing in Florida), Frank H. (physician in Trenton), and Harriet F. Our subject was reared on the farm and at the age of twenty-one went to Illinois, and located in Butler township, Vermillion county, and remained on a farm purchased by his father until the spring of 1876. un the meantime he came back, was married and returned. In the spring of 1876 he moved to Buckingham township, this county, where he lived until his death. In 1882 be built a commodious residence in which the widow now resides. She retains the farm in Illinois, consisting of two hundred acres. He died in August, 1886. He was married October 10, 1872, to Anna J., daughter of Mahlon and Sarah H. (Smith) Atkinson. Mr. and Mrs. Williams were the parents of five children: S. Ellen, Elizabeth S., Edward, Albert M., and Naomi. Mrs. Williams is a member of the Society of Friends.

CHARLES WILLIAMS, farmer, P.O. Buckingham, was born on the place where he now lives, May 13, 1833. He is a son of Anthony and Sarah (Thompson) Williams, both natives of Montgomery county, the former of Welsh descent and the latter of English. The grandfather, Joseph, was a farmer by occupation. They were large land-Owners. Joseph reared a family of six children, only one of whom survived, Charles. Our subject’s father was also a farmer. He moved to Bucks county in 1832, and settled where our subject now lives. He lived here four years, then moved back to Montgomery county and remained until his death in 1844. The mother died in March, 1880. They were the parents of seven children: Jane (deceased), Charles, Edward H., Joseph, two daughters who died in infancy, and Anthony. Our subject, when four years of age, moved with his parents to Montgomery county, where he remained until he was 21 years old. He then moved back to his birthplace and has since resided there. He was married April 12, 1860, to Hettie A., daughter of John and Sarah W. (Smith) Eastburn, which family emigrated from England. They are the parents of six children: John E., deceased; Elizabeth, wife of George B. Brown; Edward, deceased; Howard, deceased; Sarah S., and Edith C. Mr. and MN. Williams are members of the Society of Friends. He is one of the trustees of the Hughsian free school.

OLIVER HOWARD WILSON, deceased, was born in Buckingham township, Bucks county, February 2, 1822, and was a son of Oliver and Ann W. Wilson. His father died when he was six months old. He remained with his mother seven or eight years, after which the family removed to Newtown, and Oliver Howard attended school at the academy there. When he was 11 years old he entered the store of Thomas & Hawkins, Philadelphia, on Second street above Market. Mr. Thomas dying, he returned to Newtown and attended school again, when one much interested in him sent for him to return to the city. He entered the store of I.V. Williamson, No. 73 Market street, and remained until Mr. Williamson retired. The firm then changed to Williamson, Burroughs & Clarke, and when they retired, Mr. Wilson became a partner, the firm-name being changed to Mahlon Williamson & Co. During the rebellion the firm changed to Wilson, Anderson & Cernae. Being tired of the business Mr. Wilson, with General James Stewart, opened a commission house on Front street, and remained there until his death, which occurred June 30, 1876. At that time he was a member of the city council, which was on an excursion, and on reaching Mauch Chunk he became suddenly ill and died in a few hours. He was a member of the Society of Friends and in politics a republican.

SAMUEL WILSON, dealer in and grower of all kinds of seeds, P.O. Mechanicsville, was born in Buckingham township, in 1824, and is a son of Samuel and Hannah (Longstreth) Wilson. He is descended on the paternal side from ancestors who originally came from Yorkshire, England, and who for several generations have been members of the Society of Friends. The first emigrants of the name came to America about 1683, and settled in Bucks county, and in New Jersey, opposite Bristol and Morrisville. The first of the family in Buckingham township was Samuel Wilson, the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, who was born in Bucks county, January 6, 1706. He moved to Buckingham and took up a large tract of land extending to the Delaware river, and in 1731 built the older portion of the two-storied stone house, near the present village of Mechanicsville. In 1729 he married Rebecca, the ninth child of Thomas Canby, whose ancestors also came from Yorkshire, England, and to this marriage were born thirteen children. Of these, the tenth, Stephen, born in 1749, remained upon the original homestead and married Sarah Blackfan, to whom were born eight children. Of these, the second, Samuel, born in 1785, married Hannah Longstreth, and was the father of the subject of this sketch. The mother of the present Samuel Wilson was a granddaughter of Bartholomew Longstreth, who was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1679, and emigrated to Pennsylvania in 1698. He belonged to the Society of Friends, and in 1727 married Ann Dawson, who was born in London and came to America in 1710. By her he had eleven children. The eleventh child, Benjamin, married Sarah Fussel, daughter of Solomon Fussel, and to this marriage were born twelve children, of whom the ninth child, Hannah, born in 1791, married Samuel Wilson, and had eight children, of whom but two are living: Samuel, and Margaret O., wife of Elias Paxson, of Solebury. Samuel Wilson was reared on the farm, and when 21 years of age engaged in the mercantile business at Newtown. Five years later he returned and in 1852 built a house on the original tract of land. The same year he was married to Maria Webster, née Burger, by whom he had three children, all living: Samuel Howard, William E. and Mary Elizabeth. In the spring of 1876 he commenced the business of growing seeds, which he has carried on extensively. In 1885 he built a larger seed-house, and erected a three-story stone building, 35 by 60 feet. He employs a large number of hands, and has sale for seeds in all parts of the world. His establishment is one of the largest of its kind in this part of the country. Mr. Wilson has served as school director nine years. He is an intelligent and enterprising citizen.

JOHN WORTHINGTON, merchant, P.O. Bridge Valley, was born in Buckingham township, Bucks county, September 27, 1814, and is a son of Joel and Agnes (Walton) Worthington, the former of Bucks county and of English descent, and the latter a native of Byberry, Philadelphia county. The Worthingtons came from Lancashire, England, the first to emigrate being three brothers, John, Samuel and Thomas, who reached Byberry in 1705. Thomas, one of the three brothers, was received as a member of the monthly meeting of Friends in 1732. In 1759 he had a difficulty with one Dunkin, but nothing further is known of him. Samuel took a certificate for himself and wife to Abington 10th month, 28, 1724. They settled in Byberry, where they remained until 1732. Some time after that they removed to Maryland, where they died. It is said that one was a member of congress and another a governor of Ohio territory. John, the oldest, was a weaver. He was much respected, and died in 1777. The grandfather, Joseph Worthington, was a farmer. Our subject’s father was also a farmer in Buckingham township. He was the father of five children, four living: Abner, Deborah, John and Sarah A. John Worthington engaged in the mercantile business in 1841 on a capital of $10. His business increased very rapidly, and in a few years he had his store stocked with all the necessary merchandise. He has been in business where he is today for forty-six years. He carries a general line of merchandise, valued at about $7000. He also owns a farm in connection with the store, and two others in Warwick township. He is the oldest merchant in Bucks county, and by economy and industry has laid up a competence. He was married in January, 1838, to Amy, daughter of Israel and Mary (Lovett) Worthington. They are the parents of five children Francis L., Lewis, Rienzi, Edwin and Laura, wife of William P. Ely. Mr. Worthington is a director of the Doylestown National Bank.

WILMER WORTHINGTON, superintendent of creamery, P.O. Forest Grove, was born in what is now Buckingham township, January 26, 1836, being a son of Eber and Rebecca (Malone) Worthington, natives of this county and of English and Irish descent. Abner Worthington, grandfather of Wilmer, followed the occupation of farming. His son Eber was also a farmer, and led a quiet, honest life. He was a strict whig in political views, but never active in politics. He was a member of the Society of Friends and was twice married. He had two children by his first wife, Wilmer and Ellen, who died in infancy. He also had two children by his second wife: Joseph J., and Mary J., wife of Asher C. Worthington. Eber Worthington died January 16, 1863. Wilmer Worthington was reared to farming, and has been as successful as the average farmer. In 1875 he purchased the place which he has since made his home. In 1875 he was elected supervisor, which office he held until 1887, when lie resigned. In 1883, at the organization of the Forest Grove creamery, he was elected its superintendent, a position he still holds. He has been twice married, first, December 24, 1857, to Elizabeth D. Bennett, by whom he had one child, Linford. His wife died January 17, 1872, and he was again married September 10, 1874, to Rachel Bailey, by whom he had three children: Alice M., Wilmer J. and Mattie K. Mr. Worthington is a member of the I.O.O.F. Lodge of Warrington, Knights of Pythias at Carversville, and Knights of the Golden Eagle at Warwick.



    Page last updated:Monday July 07, 2008
If you have a homepage, know of a link or have information you wish to share. or would like to volunteer to transcribe information for the Bucks Co. PA please email: